Am I Really A Survivor?

A little over a year ago I posted a meme on my Facebook page that said,

“You survived the abuse. You will survive the recovery.”

And then I posted….Some days I wonder if this is true, I really do.

I remember so clearly feeling that I’d been fighting for my survival through an abusive relationship for so long that I was too tired to fight for my recovery from it. In some ways that time seems so far away, like it couldn’t possibly have only been just a year ago. So much recovery and healing has happened in that short, yet agonizingly long, amount of time.

I used to wonder…How will I know when I’m truly a survivor?

Coming out of any type of prolonged trauma or abuse, how do you know when you are no longer in danger of being sucked back into that nightmare? How can you tell when you are strong enough to stand on your own?

Recently I read a great article that lists 7 ways you can know you have arrived as a survivor. I personally identified strongly with all of them, but particularly with #3. Please follow the link below and read through them. Don’t be discouraged if you’re not experiencing all 7, but rather let it encourage you to set your sights on getting there. Keep putting one foot in front of the other. This walk towards recovery may seem long and impossible, but you can do it…one step at a time! I am praying for you every step of the way, my friend.

7 Signs You’ve Arrived as a Survivor of Narcissistic Abuse

survivor

Leave a Reply

