No More Fear

I don’t know about you, but I have struggled with some pretty amazing amounts of fear in my life. One of anxiety and depression’s favorite foods is fear. They feed on all our worst fears and grow until they’re completely out of control. I have experienced the mind-numbing panic of an anxiety attack, the hellish nightmare of a nervous breakdown and fear was the prison that held me captive for so many years, driving me into suicidal depression.

God knows we humans struggle with fear a lot and that it is something that will keep us from being effective in life. Maybe that’s why the phrase “fear not” stated in the context of comfort and compassion like, “Don’t be afraid. It’s going to be ok,” is used throughout the Bible over 80 times! And other word pairings like “do not be afraid”, “do not fear” and “be not afraid” are used over 30 times.

There are many verses that speak directly to fear and say, “Shut up! No more!” At one point, I wrote down a few key verses on index cards and began to carry them with me everywhere so that when fear started to rise up inside, I could pull out those cards and read them over and over. It’s such a comfort to know that God is so much bigger than even my biggest fears. My two favorites are these:

Isaiah 41:10 – (NIV) So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Psalm 18:16 – (NIV) He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.

Sometimes I had to pull them out 20 times a day just to keep my head above water. But over time, God has graciously delivered me from fear’s grip and I AM FREE!!!! I still carry those cards with me everywhere I go, every day. Keep fighting. Keep praying. Don’t quit! If you’re too tired or weak to fight, reach out to someone who can pray with you or for you until you find your freedom. If you don’t have someone, comment on this post or message me, and I would love to support you.

Here is a list of verses for you. I encourage you to look them up and read them…out loud…to yourself…every day.  Find the ones that speak to you the most and use them like a weapon to stop fear in its tracks. The ones listed in red are the verses in which Jesus said those wonderful words.

fearnot_08272015_72

Reach up from under the water and let Jesus grab onto your hand and pull you to freedom and safety.

FB_IMG_1456013229088

Leave a Reply

