The Dripping Faucet

Psychological and verbal abuse are a lot like a dripping faucet. At first it’s so quiet and faint you may not be able to recognize the sound or even identify where exactly it’s coming from. It’s slow and persistent and it wears you down over time.

When did the dripping start? I wish I knew. Was it always there and I just didn’t see or hear it? Or did I see it, but chose to ignore it or excuse it?

Oh, the drip isn’t THAT bad! It’s not really hurting anything. See? Just move the faucet a little and you can’t even hear the drip anymore. All better.

But it’s still dripping, crying a trail in the sink, filling the bucket til it cracks. Drop, drop, dropping on your skull until you think it might explode….and then it does. But by then it’s too late because you realize you’re already sinking…drowning…clawing at the water above you…desperate to survive.

That’s what happened to me.

“How I got PTSD from my marriage” may seem like a crazy title for an article, but it’s a very real occurrence, and a lot more common than you may realize. I hope you read it and share it with anyone you may suspect is in an abusive relationship. If you’re in an abusive relationship, I hope it will help you understand that you are not alone.

http://www.alternet.org/sex-amp-relationships/how-i-got-ptsd-my-marriage

tumblr_n3xu8wNDYR1r2m038o1_500

Leave a Reply

